INCEPTION: An Introduction to the Black Flagged Series by Steven Konkoly

Inception Black flagged series

 

 

Daniel Petrovich, the most lethal operative created by the Department of Defense’s Black Flagged Program, represents a new breed of covert operative.

 

 

*****

 

INCEPTION is Daniel Petrovich’s origin story. The perfect place for a new reader to start the BLACK FLAGGED series.

 

 

 

Militants in army kayak

 

 

He wasn’t recruited from Special Forces, law enforcement or any of the alphabet agencies–and he isn’t motivated by a sense of undying patriotism or bitter revenge. Petrovich is none of those things, which makes him all the more dangerous. Unlike most “heroes,” there’s no obvious black and white in Petrovich’s world. He sees everything in gray–an uncompromising trait that will keep him alive long enough to pull off one of the biggest coups in covert military history.

“Black Flagged lays the foundation for a gritty, high-octane series exploring the serpentine link between covert operations and government agency politics.” – Amazon reviewer

“…explosive thriller in the tradition of Flynn, Thor, Clancy…” – Amazon Reviewer

 

GET INCEPTION FREE ON KINDLE

 

Steven Konkoly is one of my favorite writers. If you haven’t discovered him yet, you’re really missing out. I love mysteries and thrillers, but there’s only one who gave me the chills—Steven Konkoly. When I read the Fractured State series the tension was so thick it literally gave me the chills. I love the creativity of authors and he has some great books out on the market. Black Ops, Post-apocalyptic thrillers, Near future Black Ops, and Military Science fiction. 

Inception, is Daniel Petrovich’s origin story, a.ka. Marko Resja, deep Black Ops operative. It’s a great place to start if you’re new to the Black Flagged series.

 

 

Black Flagged series 1-3 image

 

 

Black Flagged series 2-4 image

 

 

Steven Konkoly image

 

About Steven Konkoly

 


Steven Konkoly is the USA Today bestselling author of over twenty novels and novellas. His canon of THRILLERS includes: the FRACTURED STATE trilogy, a “24-style,” near future conspiracy series set in the southwest United States; the BLACK FLAGGED books, a gritty, no-holds barred covert operations and espionage saga; and THE PERSEID COLLAPSE series, a tense, thriller epic, chronicling the aftermath of an inconceivable attack on the United States. He recently released HOT ZONE, the first book in a thriller series chronicling the events surrounding a bioweapons attack against the United States.

Want to go behind the scenes of a bestselling thriller author? I have created an extensive array of bonus material at my website, stevenkonkoly.com, and hope you will stop by to check it out. There’s something for everyone, and you can sign up for my exclusive newsletter while you’re there. By signing up for the newsletter, you get access to subscriber only content, discount offers and “you heard it here first” updates.

***THE LONGER BIO***

Steven graduated from the United States Naval Academy in 1993, receiving a bachelor of science in English literature. He served the next eight years on active duty, traveling the world as a naval officer assigned to various Navy and Marine Corps units. His extensive journey spanned the globe, including a two-year tour of duty in Japan and travel to more than twenty countries throughout Asia and the Middle East.

From enforcing United Nations sanctions against Iraq as a maritime boarding officer in the Arabian Gulf, to directing aircraft bombing runs and naval gunfire strikes as a Forward Air Controller (FAC) assigned to a specialized Marine Corps unit, Steven’s “in-house” experience with a wide range of regular and elite military units brings a unique authenticity to his thrillers.

He lives with his family in central Indiana, where he still wakes up at “zero dark thirty” to write for most of the day. When “off duty,” he spends as much time as possible outdoors or travelling with his family–and dog.

Steven is an active member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW) and Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) organizations.

You can contact Steven directly by email (stevekonkoly@striblingmedia.com) or through his blog (www.stevenkonkoly.com).

WORK BY STEVEN KONKOLY

THE ZULU VIRUS CHRONICLES–Bioweapons/post-apocalyptic thrillers
1.) Hot Zone
2.) Kill Box
3.) Fire Storm

THE FRACTURED STATE SERIES–Dystopian, near future thrillers
1.) Fractured State
2.) Rogue State

THE PERSEID COLLAPSE SERIES–Post-apocalyptic/dystopian thrillers
1.) The Jakarta Pandemic
2.) The Perseid Collapse
3.) Event Horizon
4.) Point of Crisis
5.) Dispatches

THE BLACK FLAGGED SERIES–Black Ops/Political/Espionage thrillers
0.) INCEPTION (PREQUEL)
1.) ALPHA
2.) REDUX
3.) APEX
4.) VEKTOR
4.5) COVENANT
6.) OMEGA

Advertisements

Forever and a Day: A James Bond Novel Review by Spybrary Podcast

Gun barrel

 

 

Forever and a Day: A James Bond Novel

 

A spy is dead. A legend is born. This is how it all began. The explosive prequel to Casino Royale, from bestselling author Anthony Horowitz.

 

 

Forever and a Day image

 

 

Forever and a Day is the story of the birth of a legend, in the brutal underworld of the French Riviera, taking readers into the very beginning of James Bond’s illustrious career and the formation of his identity.

 

***

M laid down his pipe and stared at it tetchily. “We have no choice. We’re just going to bring forward this other chap you’ve been preparing. But you didn’t tell me his name.”

“‘It’s Bond, sir,’” the Chief of Staff replied. “James Bond.”

The sea keeps its secrets. But not this time.

One body. Three bullets. 007 floats in the waters of Marseille, killed by an unknown hand.

It’s time for a new agent to step up. Time for a new weapon in the war against organized crime.

It’s time for James Bond to earn his license to kill.

 

Amazon | Goodreads

 

 

47 – Forever and a Day Review -Round Table

 

This Podcast originally appears on spybrary.com June 16th Duration: 1 hr 5 min.

 

 

Anthony Horowitz image

 

Anthony Horowitz’s life might have been copied from the pages of Charles Dickens or the Brothers Grimm. Born in 1956 in Stanmore, Middlesex, to a family of wealth and status, Anthony was raised by nannies, surrounded by servants and chauffeurs. His father, a wealthy businessman, was, says Mr. Horowitz, “a fixer for Harold Wilson.” What that means exactly is unclear — “My father was a very secretive man,” he says– so an aura of suspicion and mystery surrounds both the word and the man. As unlikely as it might seem, Anthony’s father, threatened with bankruptcy, withdrew all of his money from Swiss bank accounts in Zurich and deposited it in another account under a false name and then promptly died. His mother searched unsuccessfully for years in attempt to find the money, but it was never found. That too shaped Anthony’s view of things. Today he says, “I think the only thing to do with money is spend it.” His mother, whom he adored, eccentrically gave him a human skull for his 13th birthday. His grandmother, another Dickensian character, was mean-spirited and malevolent, a destructive force in his life. She was, he says, “a truly evil person”, his first and worst arch villain. “My sister and I danced on her grave when she died,” he now recalls.

A miserably unhappy and overweight child, Anthony had nowhere to turn for solace. “Family meals,” he recalls, “had calories running into the thousands&. I was an astoundingly large, round child&.” At the age of eight he was sent off to boarding school, a standard practice of the times and class in which he was raised. While being away from home came as an enormous relief, the school itself, Orley Farm, was a grand guignol horror with a headmaster who flogged the boys till they bled. “Once the headmaster told me to stand up in assembly and in front of the whole school said, ‘This boy is so stupid he will not be coming to Christmas games tomorrow.’ I have never totally recovered.” To relieve his misery and that of the other boys, he not unsurprisingly made up tales of astounding revenge and retribution.

Anthony Horowitz is perhaps the busiest writer in England. He has been writing since the age of eight, and professionally since the age of twenty. He writes in a comfortable shed in his garden for up to ten hours per day. In addition to the highly successful Alex Rider books, he has also written episodes of several popular TV crime series, including Poirot, Murder in Mind, Midsomer Murders and Murder Most Horrid. He has written a television series Foyle’s War, which recently aired in the United States, and he has written the libretto of a Broadway musical adapted from Dr. Seuss’s book, The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T. His film script The Gathering has just finished production. And, oh yes there are more Alex Rider novels in the works. Anthony has also written the Diamond Brothers series.

 

Website | Goodreads | Amazon

 

 

 

007, 3D rendering, metal text on rust background

#NANOWRIMO2016 Writers Sought

Mystery Thriller Week 2017 has a surprise for you when all the hard work of NaNoWriMo screeches to a halt and is a distant memory. A completely free online MTW scheduled for February 12th – 22nd next year will help keep you motivated to crank out that final Work In Progress you started in November. This is your personal ticket for a unique opportunity to connect with both new and award-winning published authors, writing specialists, story coaches, editors, publishers, bloggers focused on reviewing books, vloggers, podcasters promoting the craft of writing, filmmakers, and numerous fans itching to learn more about the Mystery Thriller genre.

Continue reading “#NANOWRIMO2016 Writers Sought”

Thriller Writers Come Represent in Mystery Thriller Week

BREAKING NEWS

 

 

news-1713670_960_720

Continue reading “Thriller Writers Come Represent in Mystery Thriller Week”