Book Review: Buried in Black by J.T. Patten

Buried in Black

 

TASK FORCE ORANGE #1

 

DEEPER THAN DEEP STATE

In this explosive new series, former intelligence expert J.T. Patten takes you deep inside the top-secret operations you’ll never see on the news: our deadliest weapons in the war against terror . . .

BURIED IN BLACK

In the clandestine world of shadow ops, he’s known as The Man From Orange. A master of surveillance, signals intelligence—and silent killing—special operative Drake Woolf has been groomed and trained by the old-guard intel community after his CIA father and mother were murdered in Tunisia. Now he works for Task Force Orange, handling cases the government doesn’t want its fingerprints on. Woolf can always be relied on to carry out an assignment with surgical precision—and exterminate a threat with extreme prejudice. But his latest mission is different. Woolf knows the targets personally. He trained them in Iraq to be the perfect killing machines. Known as the “Mohawks,” these Iraqi rebels know our secrets, our strengths, and our weaknesses. And they’re using this knowledge to launch the deadliest attack the world has ever seen—on American soil . . .

 

 

Amazon | Goodreads

 

 

 

Member of the SWAT squad with an assault rifle in a black uniform on dark background. Special weapons and tactics. Special Forces.

 

 

BOOK REVIEW

 

Former intelligence expert J.T. Patten breaks on the scene with the first Task Force Orange book, Buried in Black.  First, I LOVE Black Ops. The tagline “Blacker than Black Ops” rings true when you read this book. Special operative Drake Woolfe is a well crafted character with a great backstory that bleeds well into the course of the story. They’re books about Black Ops…and then they’re books that plunge you into the authenticity of this darker than dark realm. Patten is of the latter.  I’m really looking forward to the next Task Force Orange book!

 

 

 

Number 5, stars and laurels isolated on white background. 3D illustration

 

 

 

 

JT Patten Books image

 

 

“J.T. Patten” has worked with the intelligence and special operations community in support of national defense and policy. He has a degree in Foreign Language, a Masters in Strategic Intelligence, graduate studies in Counter Terrorism from the University of St. Andrews, and numerous expertise certifications in forensics, fraud, and financial crime investigations. Patten shares these unique experiences with readers to give them a taste of “the black.”

His novel is written in a multi-layered non-linear plot style that provides a compelling inside view of larger than life covert activities in addition to the gripping turmoil that warriors suffer while battling foes and internal demons.

Disclaimer:
These novels do not constitute an official release of CIA information. All statements of fact, opinion, or analysis expressed are those of the author and do not reflect the official positions or views of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) or any other U.S. Government agency. Nothing in the contents should be construed as asserting or implying U.S. Government authentication of information or CIA endorsement of the author’s views. This material has been reviewed for classification.

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Website | Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

INCEPTION: An Introduction to the Black Flagged Series by Steven Konkoly

Inception Black flagged series

 

 

Daniel Petrovich, the most lethal operative created by the Department of Defense’s Black Flagged Program, represents a new breed of covert operative.

 

 

*****

 

INCEPTION is Daniel Petrovich’s origin story. The perfect place for a new reader to start the BLACK FLAGGED series.

 

 

 

Militants in army kayak

 

 

He wasn’t recruited from Special Forces, law enforcement or any of the alphabet agencies–and he isn’t motivated by a sense of undying patriotism or bitter revenge. Petrovich is none of those things, which makes him all the more dangerous. Unlike most “heroes,” there’s no obvious black and white in Petrovich’s world. He sees everything in gray–an uncompromising trait that will keep him alive long enough to pull off one of the biggest coups in covert military history.

“Black Flagged lays the foundation for a gritty, high-octane series exploring the serpentine link between covert operations and government agency politics.” – Amazon reviewer

“…explosive thriller in the tradition of Flynn, Thor, Clancy…” – Amazon Reviewer

 

GET INCEPTION FREE ON KINDLE

 

Steven Konkoly is one of my favorite writers. If you haven’t discovered him yet, you’re really missing out. I love mysteries and thrillers, but there’s only one who gave me the chills—Steven Konkoly. When I read the Fractured State series the tension was so thick it literally gave me the chills. I love the creativity of authors and he has some great books out on the market. Black Ops, Post-apocalyptic thrillers, Near future Black Ops, and Military Science fiction. 

Inception, is Daniel Petrovich’s origin story, a.ka. Marko Resja, deep Black Ops operative. It’s a great place to start if you’re new to the Black Flagged series.

 

 

Black Flagged series 1-3 image

 

 

Black Flagged series 2-4 image

 

 

Steven Konkoly image

 

About Steven Konkoly

 


Steven Konkoly is the USA Today bestselling author of over twenty novels and novellas. His canon of THRILLERS includes: the FRACTURED STATE trilogy, a “24-style,” near future conspiracy series set in the southwest United States; the BLACK FLAGGED books, a gritty, no-holds barred covert operations and espionage saga; and THE PERSEID COLLAPSE series, a tense, thriller epic, chronicling the aftermath of an inconceivable attack on the United States. He recently released HOT ZONE, the first book in a thriller series chronicling the events surrounding a bioweapons attack against the United States.

Want to go behind the scenes of a bestselling thriller author? I have created an extensive array of bonus material at my website, stevenkonkoly.com, and hope you will stop by to check it out. There’s something for everyone, and you can sign up for my exclusive newsletter while you’re there. By signing up for the newsletter, you get access to subscriber only content, discount offers and “you heard it here first” updates.

***THE LONGER BIO***

Steven graduated from the United States Naval Academy in 1993, receiving a bachelor of science in English literature. He served the next eight years on active duty, traveling the world as a naval officer assigned to various Navy and Marine Corps units. His extensive journey spanned the globe, including a two-year tour of duty in Japan and travel to more than twenty countries throughout Asia and the Middle East.

From enforcing United Nations sanctions against Iraq as a maritime boarding officer in the Arabian Gulf, to directing aircraft bombing runs and naval gunfire strikes as a Forward Air Controller (FAC) assigned to a specialized Marine Corps unit, Steven’s “in-house” experience with a wide range of regular and elite military units brings a unique authenticity to his thrillers.

He lives with his family in central Indiana, where he still wakes up at “zero dark thirty” to write for most of the day. When “off duty,” he spends as much time as possible outdoors or travelling with his family–and dog.

Steven is an active member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW) and Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) organizations.

You can contact Steven directly by email (stevekonkoly@striblingmedia.com) or through his blog (www.stevenkonkoly.com).

WORK BY STEVEN KONKOLY

THE ZULU VIRUS CHRONICLES–Bioweapons/post-apocalyptic thrillers
1.) Hot Zone
2.) Kill Box
3.) Fire Storm

THE FRACTURED STATE SERIES–Dystopian, near future thrillers
1.) Fractured State
2.) Rogue State

THE PERSEID COLLAPSE SERIES–Post-apocalyptic/dystopian thrillers
1.) The Jakarta Pandemic
2.) The Perseid Collapse
3.) Event Horizon
4.) Point of Crisis
5.) Dispatches

THE BLACK FLAGGED SERIES–Black Ops/Political/Espionage thrillers
0.) INCEPTION (PREQUEL)
1.) ALPHA
2.) REDUX
3.) APEX
4.) VEKTOR
4.5) COVENANT
6.) OMEGA