Book Review: Buried in Black by J.T. Patten

Buried in Black

 

TASK FORCE ORANGE #1

 

DEEPER THAN DEEP STATE

In this explosive new series, former intelligence expert J.T. Patten takes you deep inside the top-secret operations you’ll never see on the news: our deadliest weapons in the war against terror . . .

BURIED IN BLACK

In the clandestine world of shadow ops, he’s known as The Man From Orange. A master of surveillance, signals intelligence—and silent killing—special operative Drake Woolf has been groomed and trained by the old-guard intel community after his CIA father and mother were murdered in Tunisia. Now he works for Task Force Orange, handling cases the government doesn’t want its fingerprints on. Woolf can always be relied on to carry out an assignment with surgical precision—and exterminate a threat with extreme prejudice. But his latest mission is different. Woolf knows the targets personally. He trained them in Iraq to be the perfect killing machines. Known as the “Mohawks,” these Iraqi rebels know our secrets, our strengths, and our weaknesses. And they’re using this knowledge to launch the deadliest attack the world has ever seen—on American soil . . .

 

 

Amazon | Goodreads

 

 

 

Member of the SWAT squad with an assault rifle in a black uniform on dark background. Special weapons and tactics. Special Forces.

 

 

BOOK REVIEW

 

Former intelligence expert J.T. Patten breaks on the scene with the first Task Force Orange book, Buried in Black.  First, I LOVE Black Ops. The tagline “Blacker than Black Ops” rings true when you read this book. Special operative Drake Woolfe is a well crafted character with a great backstory that bleeds well into the course of the story. They’re books about Black Ops…and then they’re books that plunge you into the authenticity of this darker than dark realm. Patten is of the latter.  I’m really looking forward to the next Task Force Orange book!

 

 

 

Number 5, stars and laurels isolated on white background. 3D illustration

 

 

 

 

JT Patten Books image

 

 

“J.T. Patten” has worked with the intelligence and special operations community in support of national defense and policy. He has a degree in Foreign Language, a Masters in Strategic Intelligence, graduate studies in Counter Terrorism from the University of St. Andrews, and numerous expertise certifications in forensics, fraud, and financial crime investigations. Patten shares these unique experiences with readers to give them a taste of “the black.”

His novel is written in a multi-layered non-linear plot style that provides a compelling inside view of larger than life covert activities in addition to the gripping turmoil that warriors suffer while battling foes and internal demons.

Disclaimer:
These novels do not constitute an official release of CIA information. All statements of fact, opinion, or analysis expressed are those of the author and do not reflect the official positions or views of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) or any other U.S. Government agency. Nothing in the contents should be construed as asserting or implying U.S. Government authentication of information or CIA endorsement of the author’s views. This material has been reviewed for classification.

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Website | Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Blog Tour: Black Soul

Black Soul 2

 

 

 

BLACK SOUL by T.J. BREARTON
A gripping and dark international thriller that you won’t want to put down.

A seventeen year-old girl is missing in Honduras.

Free-spirited Rene Sterling vanished ten days ago. Her father fears she’s been sold into sex slavery. Investigators William Chase and Hanna Beckett are his last hope to find her.

The island paradise she was exploring conceals dark crimes, corruption and real danger.

Hanna and William’s mission is to disrupt human-trafficking gangs across the world. But this investigation will push their relationship to breaking point and put their lives at risk.

In a thrilling conclusion, they face a choice between real justice and obeying the law.

Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson, Jo Nesbo, or Dennis Lehane novels.

This is the fourth book in the best-selling Titan Series, though it can be read as a standalone.

TITAN SERIES:
HABIT, SURVIVORS, DAYBREAK, BLACK SOUL

 

 

Reading on the beach

 

********

 

Book Review - 3d rendered metallic typeset

 

 

I find myself really cheering for William and Hanna in this one. The crimes are hideous and outrageous. They embark on a wild journey to save these children from horrible lives in human trafficking. T.J. Brearton does a wonderful job crafting the perpatrators and the William and Hanna. I’ve been seeing more novels about solving these type of crimes and I’m putting the Titan series on my TBR list! Great job.

 

 

 

 

Awesome Word Rubber Stamp 3D Rating Review Feedback

 

 

 

 

TJ Brearton Author photo png

 

 

BIO
T. J. Brearton is a bestselling author and screenwriter. His books have been on the top 100 list for Amazon Kindle in the US, UK, and Canada. He has written more than a dozen novels from his home in the Adirondacks where he also enjoys competing with his three children for his wife’s attention.

 

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads