Blog Tour- Murder on the Oxford Canal by Faith Martin

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00066]

 

 

 

 

MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL is the first in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE LOCATION
The Oxford Canal meanders through the beautiful county of Oxfordshire, sometimes joining up with the rivers Cherwell and Thames, and flows past the world-famous university city of Oxford. Unlike many canals which are practically ruler-straight commercial waterways, built to help transport goods and heavy traffic before the advent of the railways, the Oxford Canal is a more winding and natural-looking body of water, and is a haven for wildlife and wildflowers. It has several romantically-named locks on its length (such as the Three Pigeons Lock, and Dashwood Lock) and boasts the ominously-sounding Somerton Deep Lock, which often terrifies first-time boating holiday-makers.
 

 

Oxford thames

 

 

 

locks on the river

 

 

 

 
THE DETECTIVES

DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, ‘Mellow’ Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence, she is currently under investigation, on account of her recently deceased, and definitely corrupt husband (Ronnie Greene). But adversity has never stopped her from doing her job.

DCI Philip ‘Mellow’ Mallow
Mel appreciates Hillary’s first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn’t happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he’s determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.

 

 

inspector

 

 

 

Murder on the Oxford Canal is a wonderful beginning to a promising series. I love books that begin with an interesting character to invest in. Author Faith Martin does a marvelous job introducing us to DI Hillary Greene.

This story drew me in right from the beginning and kept me turning the pages full of suspense. A mysterious body was found in the lock, with even a more mysterious crime behind it.

The author does a great job painting realistic characters and excels at crafting interpersonal relationships. Writing a story is one thing. Writing an engaging, page -turner with fascinating characters is altogether different. I’m a fan of this series!

 

 

My Rating

 

Four golden stars isolated on white background

 

 

 

 

Connect with Faith Martin

Amazon | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

Don’t miss the rest of the blog tour!

 

BLOG TOUR BANNER - Murder on the Oxford Canal

 

 

 

 

Write mysteries, thrillers, crime fiction? Join us for Mystery Thriller Week!

www.mysterythrillerweek.com    #MTW_2018 

 

MTW 2018 Banner 1