Book Review: Dead End Girl by L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain

Dead End Girl image

 

 

 

Her body is broken. Wrapped in plastic. Dumped on the side of the road. She is the first. There will be more.

The serial killer thriller that “refuses to let go until you’ve read the last sentence.”

The most recent body was discovered in the grease dumpster behind a Burger King. Dismembered. Shoved into two garbage bags and lowered into the murky oil.

Now rookie agent Violet Darger gets the most important assignment of her career. She travels to the Midwest to face a killer unlike anything she’s seen. Aggressive. Territorial. Deranged and driven.

Another mutilated corpse was found next to a roller rink. A third in the gutter in a residential neighborhood.

These bold displays of violence shock the rural community and rattle local law enforcement.

Who could carry out such brutality? And why?

Unfortunately for Agent Darger, there’s little physical evidence to work with, and the only witnesses prove to be unreliable. The case seems hopeless.

If she fails, more will die. He will kill again and again.

The victims harbor dark secrets. The clues twist and writhe and refuse to keep still. And the killer watches the investigation on the nightly news, gleeful to relive the violence, knowing that he can’t be stopped.

A page-turning thriller packed with heart-stopping suspense. Fans of John Sandford, Jeffery Deaver, Karin Slaughter, and Lisa Gardner should get to know Violet Darger.

 

Amazon | Goodreads

 

 

 

Praise - grungy wooden headline on Maple wall - 3D rendered stock image

 

 

 

Praise for Dead End Girl:

“Wow, just wow! If you like scare-you-half-to-death mystery books this is the one for you. It starts with a bang and just doesn’t stop.” — Ada Lavin

“Refuses to let go until you have read the last sentence.” — Bloodymummer

“Violet Darger is a unique, incredible character, and I immensely enjoyed taking this journey with her.” — Cat

“If you liked Silence of the Lambs, you’ll love Dead End Girl… At the same time, there’s so much attention to detail and organic storytelling that this could easily compete with any of Stephen King’s longer works. I found myself completely invested in every character, from the authorities to the killer to the victims themselves.” — eden Hudson, author of Jubal Van Zandt & the Revenge of the Bloodslinger

 

 

 

Review - 3d rendered headline

 

 

 

Authors LT Vargus and Tim Mcbain have teamed up to write an excellent series.  The Violet Darger FBI thriller books. After reading this one I walk away with the indelible impressions of the writers upon my head. The ability to not only capture the moment, but display it in “3-D” with a lasting prose that sticks to your ribs. I found it easy to mentally visualize scenes throughout the book, which made for a very unique reading experience. I’ve only come across a few writers that have this effect.

The storytelling was great in the deep point of view of newly minted special agent Violet Darger from the FBI’s Victim’s Unit. All of the characters get a nod though. It’s definitely a slow burn, yet paced perfectly without a dull moment. Highly recommended series!

 

 

 

 

recommended vintage orange seal isolated on white

 

 

 

 

 

 

LT Vargus image

 

 

L.T. Vargus grew up in Hell, Michigan, which is a lot smaller, quieter, and less fiery than one might imagine. When not click-clacking away at the keyboard, she can be found sewing, fantasizing about food, and rotting her brain in front of the TV.

L.T. Vargus now lives in Kalamazoo, Michigan with her special man friend/writing partner, Tim McBain.

She likes YouTube videos of cute animals, mystery novels, punk rock, and pizza.

Website | Amazon

 

 

 

Tim McBain image

 

People say your author bio should tell the world why you write. I write because life is short, and I want to make something awesome before I die.

Website | Amazon

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Dead End Girl by L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s